How to Choose the Jewelry You Will Actually Wear

In Los Angeles where I live, the seasonal changes are minimal. It’s hot during the day and cold at night all year around. Fortunately, that typical desert weather requires me a minimal work to organize my closets. Once or twice a year I go through them and sort out donations and throw-outs and keepers. When I do that, typically I go through, ‘I never wear this,’ ‘I wore it only once,’ ‘When did I get this?,’ and ‘I can’t live without this!’ Everytime I look at the piles sorted out, I see how my style changes. At the same time, I have shirts or earrings or shoes I had for decades and I still wear often.

What I wear expresses myself. That’s who I am. Even though my style changes, there’s still ‘ME’ in there that never changes. Those are the ones that I keep for years and keep wearing. When I meet people in general, my eyes catch their accessories first. Of course, it’s a career hazard, and it’s spontaneous when it happens. Over and over times, when I see the people who accessorize themselves well –  whether their fashion sense matches with mine or not – I notice the difference between those who don’t know how to accessorize themselves and the others who do.

womens closet

photo from Pinterest.com

Those who know how to accessorize themselves know their style. In another words, they know themselves. They know how to make decisions on things they buy. Whether their style changes over the years or not, they know how to decide and make it work for them. It doesn’t particularly mean they’re fashionable or trendy. They just know their style. The ones that you wear over and over define you. That consistency tells me the story of the wearer; who they are. Simply put, Knowing Who You Are is how to choose your jewelry (along with almost all other decisions you make for yourself).

fashion ideas

photo from Pinterest.com

Think about What Describes You when you make your purchase. Think three words that characterize you. For example, mine goes ‘Simple, Modern, and Direct.’ Not just jewelries – as a matter of a fact – the furniture, clothes, shoes, bags, hair styles, underwears…anything I buy, have, or wear reflects on that. Bold colors, simple designs, plain colored dresses, unbalanced styles, geometric figures, a little bit off the wall, etc. That’s what I have and always go for. When I find something that satisfies all 3 of them, I know I’ll love it and keep it forever. Look into your closet and drawers and jewelry boxes and displays, and see what you wear often. Does that satisfy all three of the words that describe you? Just two? Or one? Most likely, the ones that describe all three are your favorite ones. When you decide to buy new jewelry, see if the item matches your three words. See if it shows who you are. Go for all 3 strikes. Otherwise, it might stay in the back of your closet or drawers until you decide to give it away or throw it out.

So, what your fashion/jewelry tells about yourself? Confident? Friendly? Insightful? Complex? What are your three words you consider? Please share them with us in the comment!

One thought on “How to Choose the Jewelry You Will Actually Wear

  1. Pingback: Why Branding Yourself Is Important | pinkixxjewelry

Leave a Reply

