Why Branding Yourself Is Important

What is Personal Branding? I’m sure you hear this a lot these days. This comes easy for some, and hard for some others. Either way, personal branding is necessity in your every life, and I’ll tell you why.

I got a question once. She was looking through our jewelry on the booth. When I asked if she was looking for something particular, she said, “Do you have something to make me look better?” How do you think I answered to that?

“I don’t think I do. I do have some that would make you look ‘you’ if you want to try.”

I make jewelry for confident PANKs. Good accessories bring YOU out, not making you look better. That can make you FEEL better and more confident. My jewelry is not loud because I want YOU to show, not covering you up with pretty things.

Cindy Crawford said, when we feel beautiful, we have confidence and self-assurance. True. That’s not the only time we have confidence and self assurance, but it’s one example. What do you do to feel beautiful? Buy a new dress? Go out on a date? Volunteer for non-profit organizations?

Some people have fun going to clubs every weekend. Some others save money to be happy. And, some, they buy things for their nieces for their own fun. Everyone has a different way to have fun or feel happy. Everyone has different ways to make them feel beautiful. Everyone’s different. Period.

personal branding for women from pinkixx jewelry be yourself always!

“be yourself always!” from pinkixx jewelry

Personal Branding is what defines YOU. You don’t have to have a business to try ‘personal brand.’ It’s something that makes you ‘YOU.’ You brand yourself no matter what you do. Lady Gaga is a brand. She also happens to sing. Oprah is a brand. She also owns a production company (along with other things of course). You are your own brand.

For people who have businesses, branding their selves are even more obviously critical. When you see someone who sells Samsung phones uses Iphone for himself, would you trust his product? If you find out the owner of blue jean store wearing a flowery dress everyday, would you buy her jeans? If you find out your coach who teaches self confidence are seeing a doctor for depression, would you keep going to her session? You are what you sell for business owners. I remember what people asked me over and over when I started my jewelry business, and I couldn’t understand why. “So, is that necklace you are wearing yours?” Why does it matter, I thought. Now I know why.

If I cannot define you, I can’t be friends with you because you confuse me. I don’t know who you are. I cannot trust you. It’s simple as that.

What people would say when they think about you? How do you want people to remember you? Or feel about you? Shy and quiet but determined? Strong, confident, and loud? Bright, smart, but lazy? How do you define yourself? Think about three(3) things that define the current you or the ‘you’ you want to become. This trick also helps you to define yourself in fashion and guide you what to buy and what not to buy.

Underneath each of those three(3), write a short description of what you mean by that word you chose. Like a sub-title under a title. Read these out loud every morning when you get up. Try to be that person every day. Plan a small things you can do to be that person and execute it. Read it out loud when you go to bed every night, and think about what you’ve done to make those definitions you that day. This might seem silly to some of you if you never tried this, but trust me. It works. Ask others who tried this too. They’ll tell you, it works. It all starts from your mind, and it ends with your mind.

Now you feel it? Personal branding is that important. Please share who you are in three(3) words in the comments, and don’t forget to be YOU everyday! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

